Outer planets in vedic astrology

Uranus is associated with the symbol of the lightening bolt and can stimulate sudden shifts in reality. Uranus stays in each sign for about 8 years, thus having a longer cycle of influence upon us when it contacts a point in our charts. Uranus is the natural ruler of Aquarius. It is the collective consciousness, consciousness it self, and All That Is.

It is the intangible world, and the world of dreams, illusions, and delusions. It is our imagination without limits, and beyond our imagination. The world of the unknown elusively contacted in fleeting moments. Neptune embodies the essence of Divinity, and Infinity. When we are going through a Neptune transit life can at first feel confusing and unclear. Neptune works to dissolve our barriers and boundaries preventing the experience of unity and oneness with our divinity, and often we see revealed lessons of deception and disillusionment, to show us where we have been blind or naive, or out of touch with our spiritual selves.

There is a loss of innocence that eventually brings us back to a pure state again of innocence, in the timeless and everlasting journey of Life. Neptune stays in each sign for about 14 years.

How To Read Your Natal Chart & All Its Aspects

Its transits are slow, as the journey of letting go and surrendering into the abysmal sea of the Infinite, is a process which takes a certain level of development of trust, devotion, and Love. This is the true self. I practice both, and find the "dance" between them exceptionally enriching. Please understand, however, that — especially when learning each system — one should carefully avoid applying the principles present in one of the approaches to the other approach, as it can "muddy the waters".

When I first learned Jyotish, I was careful to keep all of my understandings of Western astrology compartmentalized and separate, until I had gained fluency in Vedic astrology.

Outer Planets in Vedic Astrology

Only after doing so was I able to begin to see how each system might interact with the other. Definitions In truth, there is no unified approach used by most Western astrologers. They may favor using Outer Planet transits or Progressions or Directions for their primary predictive tool, and some include additional bodies like asteroids, the comet Chiron, Arabic Parts Greek Lots , Fixed Stars, Hypothetical Points, and Uranians and Plutonians, or even adopt radically different approaches like the Huber method, Evolutionary Astrology, or Symmetrical Astrology aka Cosmobiology.

Similarly, there are literally thousands of Vedic astrological approaches, including -- among the most popular systems -- Parashari, Jaimini, Laghu Parashari, Krishnamurti Paddhati, and Shri Pati Paddhati.

Sun enters Scorpio

In point of fact, the "bible" of Vedic astrology, called Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra, is actually a compendium of independent approaches, some of which actually contradict others. This has led some Jaimini astrologers to call their approach Parashari since there are many Jaimini chapters in BPHS , further confusing the issue. For the purposes of this article, I am focusing on modern Western astrology as practiced by many professional astrologers ignoring the multitudinous variations , and on Parashari astrology as explicated in Phaladeepika and much of BPHS.

Fundamental differences between Western and Vedic astrology Zodiac The most foundational difference between Western and Vedic astrology is each system's choice of Zodiac. Western astrologers use the Tropical Zodiac, where the beginnings of the twelve signs are determined by the Sun's apparent orbit around the Earth, i. Vedic astrologers, on the other hand, use the Sidereal Zodiac, which is based upon the physical positions of the constellations in the sky. They choose a starting point most commonly the place in the sky opposite to Spica for the beginning of Aries, and proceed in equal 30 degree segments for subsequent signs.

Vedic astrologers, by and large, use Whole Sign Houses, where the Ascendant can fall anywhere in the First House, and each house comprises all of one sign.

Planets and Sign rulerships Western astrologers use all of the major planets including Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto, and most attribute rulership of Aquarius to Uranus, Pisces to Neptune, and Scorpio to Pluto. Vedic astrologers, on the other hand, stick to the visible planets, i. Planets only aspect other planets and the angles Ascendant and Midheaven. Vedic astrologers use a different approach: each planet associates with all planets in the same house, and aspects the opposite house and any planets in that house.

Retrogrades in Natal Chart

Mars, Saturn, and Jupiter also have additional unilateral special aspects to both planets and houses. Western astrologers also place importance upon aspect patterns like Grand Trines, T-squares, Yods, etc. However, while many Western astrologers employ the seven whole chart shapes originated by Marc Edmund Jones e.

Bucket, Splash, etc.

Astrology Planets - Neptune and Astrology

Differences in Approaches and Methodology Strengths and Weaknesses of Planets In Western astrology, retrograde planets are seen as weak, but since Vedic astrology is oriented towards how planets appear in the actual sky, retrograde planets are seen as strong because planets that are retrograde are at their closest approach to the earth, and therefore visibly both brighter and larger. In short, retrograde motion is an illusory side-effect of planetary proximity.

  1. pisces man horoscope daily?
  2. Useful Info.
  3. A Time of Retrogrades: Pluto, Saturn and Jupiter.

And retrograde motion is not simply a matter of moving backward. Before and after the retrograde proper, planets actually perform wide looping forays from the ecliptic where their motion varies as much in the vertical dimension as the horizontal. There are eight basic shapes these loops assume, depending on the relationship between the location of the particular retrograde and the location of the planet's nodes the places where the planet's orbit intersects Earth's orbit, or the ecliptic plane.

Astrologically, when we try to understand the meaning of a planet moving backward, the first thing to note is that it's a fairly rare occurrence. The vast majority of planetary motion is direct, so direct becomes "normal.

Inner cosmos, outer cosmos: Vedic astrology and our relationship with Nature through the planets

Simply by being contrary to the normal flow, retrograde motion represents an exception, or perhaps even a challenge, to this sense of normalcy. But since retrograde planets depart from the main highway altogether, perhaps it's more appropriate to think of them as seekers or explorers who travel the celestial byways in search of something not available on the main highway.

  • Did you get it?.
  • The Differences between Western & Vedic Astrology.
  • 2020 aquarius horoscope love march 12.
  • taurus love horoscope for january 25 2020?
  • Because of the different looping shapes, there are at least eight different types of retrogrades for each of the planets. These loops vary in shape much more with the planets that are closest to Earth. During their respective retrogrades, Venus, Mercury, and Mars all come closer to Earth than the sun, penetrating the interior heart space of our system. These retrogrades are more extreme in the distance the planet moves away from the ecliptic, which makes their loop shapes more exaggerated.